Home › Private UAE university IELTS scores

UAE private universities · IELTS scores · Documents read 24 October 2026

IELTS Scores at Private UAE Universities: What AUD, City University Ajman, Ajman University and DIDI Say

Last updated:

UAE private universities set their own IELTS scores; read on 24 October 2026 (Academic): American University in Dubai 6.5 for undergraduates, Ajman University 5.0 as the equivalent of 80% in Grade 12 English (Doctor of Medicine 6.0), City University Ajman 5.0 to 6.0, DIDI 6.0 for transfers. Band Booster IELTS is a private online tutor, not a university: Mike (CELTA, 8.5 in Speaking) coaches one-to-one from Hanoi.

Price: AED 212.16 for a 60-minute one-to-one lesson; AED 49.50 for the paid 30-minute trial. Amounts use the same price tiers as the booking page, in your local currency at exchange rates set on 6 October 2026. The booking page shows the exact amount before you pay, and PayPal charges the US-dollar equivalent (USD 57.76 for a 60-minute lesson).

There is no single IELTS score for private universities in the UAE: in the documents read on 24 October 2026, the American University in Dubai (AUD) lists IELTS Academic 6.5 for undergraduates; City University Ajman lists 5.0, 6.0 or 5.5 depending on the programme and the applicant; Ajman University gives 5.0 as the IELTS equivalent of 80% in Grade 12 English for programmes taught in English and lists 6.0 for Doctor of Medicine; and the Dubai Institute of Design and Innovation (DIDI) lists 6.0 for transfer applicants, with an exemption possible for some. Each figure is that university's own and applies to a named group of applicants, so confirm yours with the university. Band Booster IELTS is not a university or a test centre: it offers one-to-one online IELTS coaching with Mike, a CELTA-certified teacher based in Hanoi who scored 8.5 in Speaking in his own IELTS, live on Google Meet, and the booking page shows your price in your own currency before you pay. No band is guaranteed.

The four universities side by side (read 24 October 2026)

Each row shows what that university's own page or document said when we read it on 24 October 2026. Every figure in the table is for IELTS Academic, and the order is not a ranking. Three of the documents are hosted on the website of the Ministry of Higher Education and Scientific Research, but each is the university's own statement and the figures differ from one university to the next. This page does not state a Ministry rule for IELTS.

UniversityIELTS figure it listsWho it applies to, and other rules on the page
American University in Dubai (AUD)IELTS Academic 6.5, or TOEFL iBT 79, or TOEFL ITP 550.Undergraduate admissions. A minimum of IELTS Academic 6 (or TOEFL iBT 68 or ITP 520) means acceptance as a degree candidate, enrolled in ENGL100 Developmental English. Sources: AUD's undergraduate admissions page and the document whose file name reads 2025-2026 (Fall 2025) on the Ministry's website.
City University AjmanIELTS Academic 5.0, 6.0 or 5.5, depending on the programme and the applicant (see below).The university's own document, submitted to the Ministry on 10 January 2025. It says the university revised its admission criteria in accordance with Ministerial Decree No. (19) of 2024. Source: City University Ajman's revised admission requirements.
Ajman UniversityIELTS Academic 5.0 as the equivalent of 80% in Grade 12 English (programmes taught in English); 5.0 for Bachelor of Dental Surgery; 6.0 for Doctor of Medicine.Undergraduate admission process page. Source: Ajman University, undergraduate admission process.
Dubai Institute of Design and Innovation (DIDI)IELTS (Academic) 6.0, or TOEFL iBT 80.Transfer applicants, with a possible exemption for some (see below). Source: DIDI's admission requirement document on the Ministry's website (its file name says 2025).

The table gives each source's English line for the group it names. The sources set other requirements as well, and some list exemptions or other routes, so treat the table as a starting point, not as your own requirement.

How to read these figures

This page covers university English requirements only. A student visa has its own rule, set by the government that issues it, and meeting a university's score does not mean you meet a visa's, or the reverse. This page gives no visa or immigration advice; for the difference in general, see IELTS scores for study abroad.

American University in Dubai: 6.5, and what a 6 means

AUD's own undergraduate admissions page and the Ministry-hosted document whose file name reads 2025-2026 (Fall 2025) both list IELTS Academic 6.5, or TOEFL iBT 79, or TOEFL ITP 550; the document says this applies to any AUD undergraduate programme. The figures on the two matched when we read both on 24 October 2026. The text of the document carries no year of its own, so check AUD's page for your own intake.

Both also describe a lower route: students who reach a minimum of 6 on Academic IELTS (or 68 on TOEFL iBT, as the live page and the admissions section of the document give it, or 520 on TOEFL ITP) are accepted as degree candidates but enrolled in ENGL100 Developmental English. So on these pages a 6 and a 6.5 lead to different starting points. What ENGL100 involves is for AUD to explain. The document's ENGL100 course section gives 69 for TOEFL iBT, so if you plan to use TOEFL, check that figure with AUD.

The document also lists exemptions from submitting test scores for some applicants, and says applicants below the minimums may be placed in an English Bridge programme and cannot register for degree courses. Ask AUD admissions which route, if any, applies to you.

City University Ajman: three figures in one document

City University Ajman's document is headed as revised admission requirements for undergraduate and postgraduate programmes, and its cover says it was submitted to the Ministry of Higher Education and Scientific Research on 10 January 2025. The text says the university revised its admission criteria in accordance with Ministerial Decree No. (19) of 2024, which it describes as establishing admission requirements for higher education institutions in the UAE. We have not read the decree, so we cannot say which parts of the figures below, if any, come from it.

The document is organised programme by programme, and the English line can differ from one entry to the next, so these three figures are not a rule for every programme at the university. Read the entry for your own programme.

Ajman University: 5.0 as the equivalent of 80% in Grade 12 English, 6.0 for Doctor of Medicine

Ajman University's undergraduate admission process page sets three English requirements, and each one names IELTS Academic:

The Doctor of Medicine line is a full band above the general one. Check the page for your own programme, because pages like this change.

Dubai Institute of Design and Innovation: the transfer-applicant line

DIDI's admission requirement document lists, for transfer applicants, a minimum of IELTS (Academic) 6.0 or TOEFL iBT 80. A note on that line adds that scores are valid for two calendar years only and should be taken from an approved testing centre. The same section says students who have passed an English subject (grade C or above) at their initial university are not required to submit an English proficiency test, provided DIDI approves and transfers that course. The general English table in the document also lists IELTS 6.0 (it does not say Academic) and other tests, and the document says applicants whose language of instruction is English may be exempt from the test. Check which rule applies to you.

DIDI words the validity two ways: the transfer note says two calendar years only, while the general table says IELTS is valid for 2 years from the date of result declaration, so ask DIDI's admissions office how it counts before you rely on a result. This page does not say which centres DIDI treats as approved, so ask DIDI before you book a test; for how venues in the UAE are listed, see IELTS test venues across the UAE.

Which IELTS test, and how the overall band works

The figures in the table name IELTS Academic. Speaking is the same format in Academic and General Training, but Writing Task 1 differs: in Academic you describe a chart, graph, table, diagram or process, and in General Training you write a letter; see IELTS Academic or General Training. An overall band is the average of the four skill scores, rounded to the nearest half band, with a .25 remainder rounding up to the next half band, and the band score calculator does the sum. Whether a university also looks at your four skill scores is for its admissions office to say.

What this page does not cover

Preparing for the score your university lists

Band Booster IELTS is a private tutoring service, not a university, a test centre or the exam board, and it is independent of the four universities named here. Mike teaches every session himself, one-to-one and live in English on Google Meet. He holds the Cambridge CELTA, is based in Hanoi and scored 8.5 in Speaking in his own IELTS (see About Mike). A session can cover Listening, Reading, Writing (Task 1 and Task 2, marked against the public band descriptors) or Speaking (Parts 1, 2 and 3 in the real test format, with feedback during the session); see IELTS Speaking coaching for the UAE.

The booking page shows each time in your own time zone and your price in your own currency, with the payment options, before you pay. A paid 30-minute trial can be booked once, on a first booking; you can reschedule at no charge up to 12 hours before a session; and there is no subscription and no package. Sessions can be recorded on request, and written progress notes appear in your account after each session. No band is promised: progress depends on your starting point and the work you do between sessions. See also online IELTS tutor for Dubai and the UAE and online IELTS tutor by country.

Plan lessons around the score your university lists

Pick a slot in your own time zone; your price appears in your own currency on the booking page before you pay. A paid 30-minute trial with Mike is available once, on your first booking.

Book now

Common questions

What IELTS score do private universities in the UAE ask for?

There is no single score. In the documents read on 24 October 2026, the American University in Dubai (AUD) lists IELTS Academic 6.5 for undergraduates, Ajman University gives 5.0 as the IELTS equivalent of 80% in Grade 12 English for programmes taught in English and lists 6.0 for Doctor of Medicine, City University Ajman 5.0, 6.0 or 5.5 depending on the programme and the applicant, and DIDI 6.0 for transfer applicants. Each figure applies to a named group of applicants, so confirm yours with the university.

Is IELTS 6 enough for the American University in Dubai?

AUD's undergraduate admissions page lists IELTS Academic 6.5, or TOEFL iBT 79, or TOEFL ITP 550. It says applicants with a minimum of 6 on Academic IELTS are accepted as degree candidates but enrolled in ENGL100 Developmental English. What that course involves, and what the Ministry-hosted document says about exemptions and an English Bridge route, is for AUD to explain, so ask its admissions office how it applies to your case.

What IELTS score does Ajman University ask for?

For all programmes taught in English, Ajman University's undergraduate admission page asks for 80% in Grade 12 English or its equivalent, and gives 5.0 IELTS Academic (or TOEFL ITP 500 or iBT 61) as the equivalent. The same page lists 5.0 for the Bachelor of Dental Surgery and 6.0 IELTS Academic for the Doctor of Medicine programme. Check the page for your own programme, as it can change.

Is City University Ajman's IELTS requirement set by the Ministry?

The figures are those in City University Ajman's own document, which its cover says was submitted to the Ministry of Higher Education and Scientific Research on 10 January 2025. The text says the university revised its admission criteria in accordance with Ministerial Decree No. (19) of 2024, which it describes as setting admission requirements for UAE higher education institutions. We have not read the decree, so we cannot say which parts of the figures, if any, come from it, and this page does not state a Ministry rule for IELTS. In the document, IELTS Academic 5.0 is the line for applicants from a non-MOE, non-English curriculum, and 6.0 is the line where the bachelor's degree was in a non-English language.

How long is an IELTS score valid for DIDI transfer applicants?

DIDI's admission requirement document lists IELTS (Academic) 6.0 or TOEFL iBT 80 for transfer applicants. Its transfer note says scores are valid for two calendar years only and should be taken from an approved testing centre, while the general table in the same document says IELTS is valid for 2 years from the date of result declaration, so ask DIDI how it counts. The document also says transfer students who passed an English subject (grade C or above) at their initial university are not required to submit a test, provided DIDI approves and transfers that course. This page does not list which centres DIDI treats as approved, and Band Booster IELTS is not a test centre and does not register students.

Does reaching a university's IELTS score guarantee admission?

No. An English score is one requirement among others, and each university makes its own decision. No score on this page guarantees admission, and Band Booster IELTS promises no band. Read the university's page for your intake, because requirements change.

Does Band Booster IELTS register me for IELTS or give visa advice?

No. Band Booster IELTS is a private online tutor, not a test centre or a university, and it does not register students, set exam fees or test dates, or give visa or immigration advice. Mike, a CELTA-certified teacher based in Hanoi who scored 8.5 in Speaking in his own IELTS, teaches one-to-one on Google Meet, and the booking page shows your price in your own currency before you pay.